Atletico beat Porto to reach last 16

Porto and Atletico Madrid players clashed in a match that saw three red cards

Atletico Madrid reached the last 16 of the Champions League after beating Porto in an extraordinary match that saw three players shown red cards.

Antoine Griezmann scored one goal in Portugal and had a key role in the two others as the Spanish side finished second in Group B behind Liverpool.

Atletico led 1-0 through Griezmann when Yannick Carrasco was sent off, before Porto’s Wendell saw red.

Porto’s Agustin Marchesin, who was not on the pitch, was also shown a red.

Substitute Angel Correa made it 2-0 to Atletico in the 90th minute, while Rodrigo de Paul added a third goal 60 seconds later.

Porto then earned a consolation penalty which Sergio Oliveira converted with the final kick of the game.

Diego Simeone’s Atletico began the game bottom of the group but ended it second on seven points, Porto coming third with five and qualifying for the Europa League.

Liverpool finished top with 18 points after winning 2-1 at AC Milan, who finished bottom with four.

Atletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann: “This match and this group stage campaign sums up just what Atletico is all about. We are a true group and we need everyone to do their bit to get to where we want to. We never stop believing.”


FC Porto

Formation 4-4-2

  • 99Meireles Costa
  • 23Neto LopesSubstituted forOliveiraat 81′minutes
  • 19Mbemba
  • 3PepeBooked at 69mins
  • 12SanusiSubstituted forWendellat 63′minutesBooked at 70mins
  • 25OtávioBooked at 67minsSubstituted forVieiraat 82′minutes
  • 20Vitinha
  • 16GrujicSubstituted forJM Coronaat 81′minutes
  • 7Díaz
  • 9TaremiBooked at 32minsSubstituted forMartínezat 82′minutes
  • 30de Lima Barbosa


  • 1Marchesín
  • 2Cardoso
  • 17JM Corona
  • 18Manafá Jancó
  • 22Wendell
  • 27Oliveira
  • 28Almeida Costa
  • 29Martínez
  • 31Chipela Gomes
  • 50Vieira
  • 70Albuquerque Borges
  • 71Meira Meixedo

Atl Madrid

Formation 3-4-2-1

  • 13Oblak
  • 24Vrsaljko
  • 4Kondogbia
  • 22Hermoso
  • 14Llorente
  • 6Koke
  • 5de Paul
  • 21CarrascoBooked at 67mins
  • 11LemarSubstituted forCorreaat 66′minutesBooked at 67mins
  • 8Griezmann
  • 9SuárezSubstituted forSantos Carneiro Da Cunhaat 13′minutesSubstituted forLodi dos Santosat 83′minutes


  • 1Lecomte
  • 7Sequeira
  • 10Correa
  • 12Lodi dos Santos
  • 16Herrera
  • 19Santos Carneiro Da Cunha
  • 31Gómez
  • 38González Verjara
  • 47Camara Silva

Clément Turpin


Live Text

Source link

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: